Community Festivals

Ausufern

Dance
Performance
Music
Site-Specific
Photo: Thore Rehbach

The programming series AUSUFERN by Uferstudios for contemporary dance hase been held annually in the summer since 2016 and initiates and presents art projects which especially focus on social space and attempt to initiate dialog with the neighborhood. The programming approach refers back to an understanding of choreography which sees itself not only as production, but as a social practice as well. This helps exponentially to realize the desire of all partners of Uferstudios to further open the location. AUSUFERN is artistically implemented together with Berlin-based and international artists as well as with members of the urban society.

Presented by Uferstudios GmbH.

uferstudios.com

Ausufern takes place annually. The next edition is expected in summer 2022.

BAM! Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

Music Theater
Music Performance
Photos: Marcus Lieberenz

With its independent music theater community, Berlin is one of the most important centers for contemporary music theater. No other location in the world features a larger number of artists, groups and ensembles who have dedicated themselves to an alternative form of music theater that goes beyond opera. BAM! is the festival for this community. With a jam-packed schedule of programming offering exciting insight into new paths for music theater, every two years it attracts audiences from all throughout Germany as well as abroad for four exhilarating days. The next issue will be postponed from autumn 2021 to spring 2022. BAM! will be biennial from fall 2023 on.

Presented by ZMB - Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin 

https://bam-berlin.org

The BAM! Festival takes place annually or every other year. The next edition will be held in April 2022.

Berlin Showcase

Performing Arts for very young Audiences
Photos: David Beecroft

Berlin Showcase is a festival featuring current productions for very young audiences in and from Berlin. Theater o.N. is the initiator and presents the format together with other performance venues such as Schaubude Berlin. The focus is placed on the presentation, networking and artistic research of the interdisciplinary Berlin arts community creating work for very young audiences. Encounters with the international community of practitioners are made possible and the work of Berlin-based theater artists is presented to national and international curators and presenters.

Presented by Theater o.N.

berliner-schaufenster.theater-on.de

Berlin Showcase takes place every two years in spring. The next edition is expected in fall 2021.

Monologfestival

Theater
Photo: Dejan Patic

The Monologfestival at Theaterdiscounter has been held every two years since 2007. For each edition, it coproduces up to ten new theater solos exploring current social and political topics. The new productions of these monologues and performances, which primarily come from Berlin’s independent performing arts community, result in a polyphonic exploration of the topics during this festival. At the same time, the artists and collectives fully investigate the complete range of the genre of monologue with their diverse aesthetic signatures. The festival presents autonomous individual statements that are very well-suited for touring as they lack elaborate sets. Showcases of selected festival monologues from the 2019 edition are planned for the 2020/ 21 season at Lichthof Theater Hamburg, studio NAXOS Frankfurt/Main, and from November 6 to 8, 2020 at Theaterdiscounter.

Presented by Theaterdiscounter.

theaterdiscounter.de

Monologfestival takes place every two years. The next edition will be held in autumn 2021.

Open Spaces

Tanz
Performance
Photo: Dieter Hartwig

In 2014, Tanzfabrik Berlin founded a new format, Open Spaces, which brings together the current projects of the artists who worked in the Tanzfabrik studios over the course of the year. This means that Open Spaces is not a curated festival; it refrains from providing a central topic and its understanding of dance is intentionally broad and diverse. The artists research connections in interpersonal, social, political and physical spaces, refer to past tendencies in their work and invent as well as discover new methods and concentrations for their work. Open Spaces offers the audience a schedule of programming which is rich in diverse event formats: these include conversations and exhibitions as well as performances, from the first rehearsal impressions all the way to the premiere.

Presented by Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Next edition of Open Spaces is expected in February 2022.

Performing Arts Festival Berlin

Independent Performing Arts Made in Berlin
Photo: Alina Bader

Since 2016, the Berlin Performing Arts Festival has presented the diversity of Berlin’s independent performing arts community at numerous theaters and performance venues throughout the entire city on an annual basis. Organized by LAFT Berlin, the festival is realized by the independent performing arts community itself. The schedule of programming collects work from all genres and is supported by an ancillary schedule of events with communication, exchange and network formats. The festival dedicates a special focus to emerging artists with the programming series Introducing... . The festival’s schedule of programming is thus intended both for Berlin’s audience as well as visitors to the city and interested visiting industry professionals from throughout Germany and abroad.

Presented by LAFT Berlin — State Association for the Independent Performing Arts Berlin.

performingarts-festival.de/en

The Performing Arts Festival Berlin takes place annually. The next edition will be held from May 25 to 30, 2021

Plataforma Berlin

Dance
Performance
Installation
Video Dance
Photos: Genilson Guajajara, Ricardo Léon Julia Schäfer

Plataforma Berlin takes the current political, ecological and social situation in Ibero-America into consideration and creates interconnections on the topics of climate change and activism. Over the course of an intercontinental and interdisciplinary encounter, BIPOC artists, African-American and indigenous activists and culture makers come together to interact with each other as well as with the audience. Dance, performance, discussions, documentation, workshops, installations and concerts allow traditional and contemporary culture to enter into dialogue with each other and allow insights into ancient and futuristic cultures. In doing so, the effects of the decolonization process on the body are reflected upon, as are the forms of resistance that artists have developed over the course of their emigration to Berlin or as part of a local utopia.

Presented by Martha Hincapié Charry in cooperation with radialsystem, Verlin, DOCK11 with support of Instituto Cervantes, Spanish Embassy

plataformaberlin.de

Plataforma Berlin takes place annually. The next edition is expected to be held in summer 2021.

Tanznacht Berlin

Dance
Performance
Photos: Dieter Hartwig

Tanznacht Berlin presents the diversity of choreographic work by artists living and working in Berlin. Initiated in the year 2000 as part of the 20th anniversary celebration of Tanzfabrik Berlin, the festival has taken place at Uferstudios in Wedding since 2008. The format changes every two years by including a new curator and is intended to reflect changes within artistic processes and public discourses. As an artistic congregation of Berlin’s dance community, Tanznacht sends clear cultural policy signals and provides an opportunity for intensive exchange. Since 2012, the festival has been offered every other year, alternating with the discursive format Tanznacht Forum.

Presented by Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanznachtberlin.de

Tanznacht Berlin takes place every two years. The next edition is expected to be held in September 2023.

Tanztage Berlin

Dance
Performance
Photo: Gerhard F. Ludwig

Tanztage Berlin has become one of the most important national and international platforms for new choreographers in Berlin since its founding in 1996. Participation in the Tanztage Berlin festival is an important step toward a professional career for many artists – they receive financial and dramaturgical support. Additional focuses of the festival are international cooperations with many nations, including Iran, Greece, Egypt, Poland, Israel, Sri Lanka and Mexico, as well as new communication and feedback formats. Alongside the founders Barbara Friedrich and Benjamin Schälike, the festival was curated by Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer and from 2014-2020 by Anna Mülter. Beginning in 2021, Mateusz Szymanòwka will be the Artistic Director of Tanztage Berlin.

Presented by Sophiensæle

sophiensaele.com

Tanztage Berlin takes place annually in January. The next edition is yet to be announced.

The Expo

Performance
Spoken Theater
Dance
Photo: Jerun Vahle

Since 2013, this annual festival has presented selected performances from the diverse yet often still undiscovered international independent performing arts community of Berlin with a working language of English. Over six evenings, each with one full-length production or two shorter productions, the festival presents a cross section of this community across all performing arts genres and beyond all language barriers. Within ExpLoRE, the newcomer’s platform, the Sunday afternoon is open to smaller formats or work still under development. The 2020 schedule of programming was curated by festival founder Daniel Brunet, producing artistic director of English Theatre Berlin, as well as choreographer Olivia Hyunsin Kim and theater director Shlomo Lieberman, from the applications received based on the criteria of artistic excellence, internationalism and creative diversity.

Presented by English Theatre Berlin | International Performing Arts Center

etberlin.de

The Expo festival takes place annually in spring. The next edition is yet to be announced.

(Inter)national Festivals in Berlin

Augenblick mal!

Children's & Youth Theater

Presented by KJTZ and ASSITEJ e.V. in cooperation with theaters in Berlin

www.augenblickmal.de/en

The Augenblick mal! festival takes place every two years. The next edition will be held from April 16 to 21, 2021.

Berlin Circus Festival

Contemporary Circus
Photos: Miikkael Kukkula

The Berlin Circus Festival is the festival for contemporary circus in the heart of Berlin. It invites the audience to discover the breathtaking mix of circus, dance and performance during eight high-class productions under our big top. 10 days of festival with young, international artists from all over Europe. Stunning acrobatics, juggling, theatre, dance and a unique festival site.

The festival features renowned productions, spectacular shows, emerging artists and much more. It is the perfect time to discover the so-called contemporary circus, which is already enchanting an incredible number of spectators abroad!

On the site, there are as well art exhibitions, live music and savour delicacies with your drinks in the rays of the late Berlin summer sun.

Presented by Berlin Circus Production

berlin-circus-festival.de

The Berlin Circus Festival takes place annually in summer. The next edition is yet to be announced.

Fratz International

Performing Arts for Very Young Audiences

Fratz International is the only festival nationwide held especially for participants aged zero to six. Every two years, Fratz hosts a selection of outstanding visiting productions from various countries in order to make these works accessible to Berlin audiences and the national children‘s theater scene in Germany and to promote international exchange.

Grounded in the belief that art and culture should be available to all persons regardless of age or social or cultural origin, a core element of the festival is that the visiting productions are shown at locations dispersed throughout Berlin — in temporary venues in districts where theater productions otherwise are rare.

Presented by Theater o.N.

http://www.fratz-festival.de/en/fratz/

FRATZ International takes place every two years. The next edition will be held in spring 2022.

Ikarus-Spielzeit

Children's & Youth Theater
Photos: Kay Herschelmann

Presented by JugendKulturService gGmbH Berlin

http://jugendkulturservice.de

The Ikarus-Spielzeit takes place annually in autumn. The next edition is expected be held in autumn 2021.

Purple

Dance For Young Audience
Iron Skulls Co. "Sinestesia", Photo: David Brock

In addition to a professional stage program featuring numerous dance performances, the festival offers an extensive supporting program. In collaboration with participating artists, there are introductions to the works performed, discussions, and free workshops for students of all ages and teachers.

The goal of the festival is to make children and young people curious and enthusiastic about dance. To do so, it puts together a joyful and energetic program presenting various aesthetic approaches and types of content from the international contemporary dance scene. The festival not only wish to diversify young people's viewing habits, but also encourage them to participate, empathize, and think outside the box.

The festival is aimed at children and young people ages 6 and over and at anyone who is interested. Most of the dance performances will take place in the morning, in order to enable school classes to attend during school hours.

The festival's main venue is the Uferstudios in Berlin's Wedding area. It cooperates
with TanzZeit e.V. at the Podewil (in Berlin-Mitte), and Theater Strahl.HalleOstkreuz (in Berlin-Lichtenberg).

Presented by C. Erek & I. Zysk GbR

purple-tanzfestival.de

Purple - International Dance Festival for Young Audiences takes place every year in January, the next edition in the second half of march, 2021.

Tanz im August

Dance
Photos: Dajana Lothert

Tanz im August is Berlin's international festival for contemporary dance. Each year, Tanz im August, presented by HAU Hebbel am Ufer, invites the audience to join the festival and experience four weeks of the complete dance scope. Productions of international stars, newscomers and choreographs of the Berlin scene bring their works to locations all over the city, among them numerous World and German premieres. Tanz im August also offers many audience engagement formats which offer unexpected access to the programme for the visitors.

Presented by HAU Hebbel am Ufer

english.tanzimaugust.de

Tanz im August takes place annually in August. The next edition is yet to be announced.

Theater der Dinge

Contemporary Puppet/Object Theater
Théâtre sans Toit "Cubix", Photo: Jean Yves Lacôte

The international festival THEATER DER DINGE is one of Germany’s most important festivals for contemporary figure and object theatre. Choosing different themes to focus on, the festival reflects the current trends and currents of the genre, explores peripheries and pushes experimentation at the intersections with affiliated arts. The productions, installations and exhibitions that are invited to participate all possess a unique artistic language, a wholly individual aesthetic quality and a certain urgency with respect to their content.

Presented by Schaubude Berlin

www.schaubude.berlin

The festival takes place annually in October/November. The next edition is yet to be announced.

Festivals der Berliner Szene

Ausufern

Tanz
Performance
Musik
Site-Specific
Foto: Thore Rehbach

Die Programmreihe AUSUFERN der Uferstudios für zeitgenössischen Tanz findet seit 2016 jährlich in den Sommermonaten statt und initiiert Kunstprojekte, die in besonderem Maße in den gesellschaftlichen Raum hineinwirken und den Dialog mit der Nachbarschaft suchen. Der Programmansatz bezieht sich auf einen Begriff von Choreografie, der diese nicht nur als Inszenierung, sondern auch als eine soziale Praxis auffasst. Damit wird der Wunsch aller Partner*innen der Uferstudios nach einer Öffnung des Standorts wesentlich vorangebracht. AUSUFERN wird zusammen mit in Berlin lebenden und internationalen Künstler*innen ebenso wie mit Auftraggeber*innen aus der Stadtgesellschaft künstlerisch umgesetzt.

Veranstaltet von Uferstudios GmbH.

uferstudios.com

Ausufern findet jährlich von Juni bis September statt, die nächste Ausgabe vorraussichtlich im Sommer 2022.

 

BAM! Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater

Musiktheater & -Performance
Fotos: Marcus Lieberenz

Mit seiner freien Musiktheaterszene ist Berlin eines der wichtigsten Zentren zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters. Nirgendwo gibt es eine größere Anzahl von Akteur*innen, Gruppen und Ensembles, die sich einem alternativen Musiktheater jenseits der Oper verschrieben haben. BAM! ist das Festival dieser Szene. Mit einem dichten Programm aufregender Ausblicke auf neue Wege im Musiktheater lockt es alle zwei Jahre für die Dauer von jeweils vier Tagen auch internationales Publikum in die Stadt. Die nächste Ausgabe wird vom Herbst 2021 auf das Frühjahr 2022 verschoben. Ab Herbst 2023 wird BAM! biennal stattfinden.

Veranstaltet von ZMB - Zeitgenössisches Musiktheater Berlin e.V.

bam-berlin.org

Das BAM! Berliner Festival für aktuelles Musiktheater findet alle ein bis zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe vorraussichtlich im April 2022.

Berliner Schaufenster

Junges Publikum
Fotos: David Beecroft

Das Berliner Schaufenster ist eine Schau aktueller Produktionen für sehr junge Zuschauer*innen in und aus Berlin. Das Theater o.N. ist Initiator und veranstaltet das Format gemeinsam mit anderen Spielorten wie z. B. der Schaubude Berlin. Der Fokus liegt auf der Präsentation, Vernetzung und künstlerischen Forschung der Berliner Kunstszene für die Jüngsten. Begegnungen mit der internationalen Fachszene werden ermöglicht und die Berliner Theaterkunst wird den nationalen und internationalen Kurator*innen und Veranstalter*innen vorgestellt.

Veranstaltet von Theater o.N.

berliner-schaufenster.theater-on.de

Das Berliner Schaufenster findet alle zwei Jahre im Frühjahr statt, die nächste Ausgabe vorraussichtlich im Herbst 2021.

Monologfestival

Theater
Foto: Dejan Patic

Das Monologfestival am Theaterdiscounter Berlin findet seit 2007 im zweijährigen Rhythmus statt. Es koproduziert zu jeder Ausgabe bis zu zehn neue Theatersolos unter einer gesellschaftlich und politisch aktuellen Themenvorgabe. Die monologischen Neuinszenierungen und Performances – überwiegend aus der freien Szene Berlins – verdichten sich im Festival zu einer vielstimmigen inhaltlichen Auseinandersetzung. Gleichzeitig loten die Künstler*innen und Kollektive mit ihren unterschiedlichen ästhetischen Handschriften die Spannbreite der Gattung Monolog aus. Das Monologfestival präsentiert autonome Einzelstatements, die ohne Bühnenbild für das spätere Touring bestens geeignet sind. Showcases ausgewählter Festivalmonologe der Ausgabe 2019 sind für die Spielzeit 2020/ 21 in Planung u. a. am Lichthof Theater Hamburg, studioNAXOS Frankfurt/Main sowie vom 6. bis 8. November 2020 am Theaterdiscounter.

Veranstaltet von Theaterdiscounter.

theaterdiscounter.de

Das Monologfestival findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe im Herbst 2021.

Open Spaces

Tanz
Performance
Foto: Dieter Hartwig

2014 begründete die Tanzfabrik Berlin mit Open Spaces ein neues Format, das die aktuellen Projekte derjenigen Künstler*innen zusammenbringt, die über das Jahr in den Studios der Tanzfabrik arbeiten. Open Spaces ist daher kein kuratiertes Festival: Es gibt kein Thema vor und der Tanzbegriff ist bewusst sehr weit und vielfältig gefasst. Die Künstler*innen erforschen Zusammenhänge in zwischenmenschlichen, gesellschaftlichen, politischen und physischen Räumen, beziehen in ihrem Schaffen vergangene Tendenzen ein und (er)finden neue Methoden wie Arbeitsschwerpunkte. Open Spaces bietet dem Publikum ein Programm mit unterschiedlichsten Veranstaltungsformaten: Gespräche und Ausstellungen ebenso wie Performances, von ersten Probeneindrücken bis zur Premiere.

Veranstaltet von Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanzfabrik-berlin.de

Die nächste Ausgabe von Open Spaces findet voraussichtlich im Februar 2022 statt.

Performing Arts Festival Berlin

Freie Darstellende Künste aus Berlin
Foto: Alina Bader

Seit 2016 bildet das Performing Arts Festival Berlin im jährlichen Rhythmus die Vielfalt der freien darstellenden Künste an zahlreichen Bühnen und Spielstätten in ganz Berlin ab. Veranstaltet vom LAFT Berlin wird das Festival durch die freie Szene selbst getragen. Das Programm versammelt künstlerische Arbeiten aller Genres, begleitet von Vermittlungs-, Begegnungs- und Netzwerkformaten. Newcomer*innen widmet das Festival mit der Programmreihe „Introducing...“ einen eigenen Schwerpunkt. Das Festivalprogramm richtet sich sowohl an das Berliner Publikum als auch an Besucher*innen der Stadt und interessierte Fachgäste aus dem In- und Ausland.

Veranstaltet von LAFT Berlin – Landesverband freie darstellende Künste Berlin.

performingarts-festival.de

Das Performing Arts Festival findet jährlich statt, die nächste Ausgabe vom 25. bis 31. Mai 2021.

Plataforma Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Installation
Fotos: Genilson Guajajara, Ricardo Léon, Julia Schäfer

Plataforma Berlin betrachtet die aktuelle politische, ökologische und soziale Situation im iberoamerikanischen Raum und zieht Querverbindungen zu Klimawandel und Aktivismus. In einer interkontinentalen und interdisziplinären Begegnung treffen BIPOC Künstler*innen, afro-amerikanische und indigene Aktivist*innen und Kulturschaffende aufeinander, um miteinander und mit dem Publikum zu interagieren. Tanz, Performance, Diskussionen, Dokumentationen, Workshops, Installationen und Konzerte lassen angestammte und zeitgenössische Kultur in einen Dialog treten und ermöglichen Einblicke in uralte und futuristische Kulturen. Reflektiert werden dabei die Auswirkungen von Dekolonisationsprozessen auf den Körper sowie die Widerstandsformen, die Künstler*innen im Rahmen der Auswanderung nach Berlin oder als Teil einer lokalen Utopie entwickelt haben.

Veranstaltet von Martha Hincapié Charry in Kooperation mit radialsystem, Verlin, DOCK11 mit Unterstützung von Instituto Cervantes, Spanische Botschaft

plataformaberlin.de

Plataforma Berlin findet jährlich statt, die nächste Ausgabe vorraussichtlich im Sommer 2021.

Tanznacht Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Fotos: Dieter Hartwig

Die Tanznacht Berlin präsentiert die Vielfalt choreografischer Arbeiten von in Berlin lebenden und arbeitenden Künstler*innen. Initiiert im Jahr 2000 infolge des 20-jährigen Bestehens der Tanzfabrik Berlin wird das Festival seit 2008 in den Uferstudios im Wedding ausgerichtet. Das Format ändert sich alle zwei Jahre durch die Einbindung einer wechselnden kuratorischen Leitung und hat den Anspruch, den Veränderungen von künstlerischen Verfahrensweisen und Publikumsdiskursen gerecht zu werden. Als künstlerische Zusammenkunft der Berliner Tanzszene setzt die Tanznacht neben einem intensiven Austausch auch kulturpolitische Signale. Seit 2012 wird das Festival im jährlichen Wechsel mit dem diskursiven Format Tanznacht Forum veranstaltet.

Veranstaltet von Tanzfabrik Berlin

tanznachtberlin.de

Die Tanznacht Berlin findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe im September 2023.

Tanztage Berlin

Tanz
Performance
Foto: Gerhard F. Ludwig

Die Tanztage Berlin sind seit ihrer Gründung 1996 national und international zu einer der wichtigsten Plattformen für den choreografischen Nachwuchs in Berlin geworden. Die Teilnahme an den Tanztagen Berlin ist für viele Künstler*innen ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung einer professionellen Karriere – sie erhalten finanzielle Unterstützung und dramaturgische Begleitung. Weitere Schwerpunkte des Festivals sind internationale Kooperationen u. a. mit Iran, Griechenland, Ägypten, Polen, Israel, Sri Lanka und Mexiko sowie neue Vermittlungs- und Feedbackformate. Nach den Gründer*innen Barbara Friedrich und Benjamin Schälike kuratierten Inge Koks, Peter Pleyer und zuletzt von 2014-2020 Anna Mülter das Festival. Ab 2021 übernimmt Mateusz Szymanòwka die künstlerische Leitung der Tanztage Berlin.

Veranstaltet von Sophiensæle

sophiensaele.com

Die Tanztage Berlin finden jährlich im Januar statt, die nächste Ausgabe wird noch angekündigt.

The Expo

Performance
Theater
Tanz
Foto: Jerun Vahle

Das jährlich stattfindende Festival präsentiert seit 2013 ausgewählte Arbeiten aus der vielfältigen aber größtenteils noch unentdeckten internationalen freien Szene Berlins mit Arbeitssprache Englisch. Sechs Festivalabende mit je einer abendfüllenden Produktion oder zwei kürzeren Produktionen zeigen einen Querschnitt dieser Szene über alle Sprachbarrieren und Genregrenzen hinweg. Der Sonntag ist als Nachwuchsplattform ExpLoRE für kleinere oder noch unfertige Formate geöffnet. Kuratiert wurde das Programm 2020 von Festivalgründer Daniel Brunet, produzierender künstlerischer Leiter des English Theatre Berlin, sowie Choreografin Olivia Hyunsin Kim und Bühnenregisseur Shlomo Lieberman. Auswahlkriterien hierbei sind künstlerische Exzellenz, internationaler Hintergrund der Beteiligten und Verortung in der Vielfalt der Berliner Szene.

Veranstaltet von English Theatre Berlin | International Performing Arts Center

etberlin.de

The Expo Festival findet jährlich im April statt, die nächste Ausgabe wird noch angekündigt.

(Inter)nationale Festivals in Berlin

Augenblick mal!

Kinder- & Jugendtheater
Foto: Holger Drees

„Augenblick mal!“ ist die Biennale des Theaters für junges Publikum in Deutschland. Es fördert seit fast 30 Jahren die Entwicklung des Kinder- und Jugendtheaters und schafft eine Öffentlichkeit für diese Form der Theaterkunst. Alle zwei Jahre zeigt das einzige bundesweite Festival des Theaters für Kinder und Jugendliche zehn außergewöhnliche und impulsgebende Inszenierungen aus Deutschland. Die nationale Plattform des Theaters für junges Publikum bietet dem Fachpublikum aus Deutschland und dem Ausland neben den Gastspielen ebenfalls Raum für künstlerischen Austausch und Reflexion.

Veranstaltet von KJTZ und ASSITEJ e.V. in Kooperation mit Berliner Theatern

www.augenblickmal.de

Augenblick mal! findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe vom 16. bis 21. April 2021.

Berlin Circus Festival

Zeitgenössischer Zirkus
Fotos: Miikkael Kukkula

Das Berlin Circus Festival ist das Festival für zeitgenössischen Circus auf dem Tempelhofer Feld in Berlin. An 10 Tagen kann das Publikum die atemberaubende Mischung von Artistik, Tanz und Performance bei vielen verschiedenen Produktionen und Formaten im großen Zelt zu entdecken. Das Festival mit jungen und internationalen Künstlern aus ganz Europa!

Das Festival zeigt renommierte Produktionen, spektakuläre Shows, großartige Nachwuchstalente und vieles mehr. Es bringt den zeitgenössischen Circus, der im Ausland bereits die Zuschauer in Massen begeistert, direkt zum Publikum!

Auf dem Festivalgelände gibt es außerdem Kunst, Livemusik, Getränke und verschiedene Leckereien.

Veranstaltet von Berlin Circus Production

berlin-circus-festival.de

Das Berlin Circus Festival findet jährlich im Sommer statt, die nächste Ausgabe wird noch angekündigt.

Fratz International

Darstellende Künste für die Jüngsten
Isabelle Schad "DER BAU", Foto: David Beecroft

Fratz International ist bundesweit das einzige Festival speziell für die Zielgruppe 0-6 Jahren. Alle zwei Jahre lädt Fratz eine Auswahl von bemerkenswerten Gastspielen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern ein, um diese dem Berliner Publikum und der bundesdeutschen Kindertheaterszene zugänglich zu machen und einen internationalen Austausch zu befördern. Aus der Überzeugung heraus, dass Kunst und Kultur allen Menschen unabhängig von Alter, sozialer oder kultureller Herkunft zugänglich sein sollte, gehört es zum Kern des Festivals, dass die Gastspiele verteilt über ganz Berlin gezeigt werden – an temporären Spielorten in Bezirken, in denen sonst wenig Theater stattfindet.

Veranstaltet von Theater o.N.

www.fratz-festival.de

FRATZ International findet alle zwei Jahre statt, die nächste Ausgabe im Frühjahr 2022.

Ikarus-Spielzeit

Kinder- & Jugendtheater
Fotos: Kay Herschelmann

Ikarus hatte Mut und ein hochgestecktes Ziel vor Augen und konnte so als Bild für die geistige Flugfähigkeit des Menschen in die Sagenwelt eingehen. Mit dem IKARUS-Preis setzt der JugendKulturService seit 2002 einmal jährlich ein Licht-Zeichen in die breite und qualitativ hochstehende Theaterlandschaft für ein junges Publikum in Berlin. Der IKARUS ehrt Inszenierungen, die für Kinder und Jugendliche den Theaterbesuch zu einem besonderen Erlebnis werden lassen. Nicht für reine Unterhaltung und die Verfolgung eines Mainstream steht der IKARUS, sondern für den Mut, etwas künstlerisch zu riskieren und sich an Außergewöhnliches heran zu wagen.

Der JugendKulturService möchte mit dem IKARUS das öffentliche Interesse auf diese besonderen Theaterereignisse lenken und dem Publikum Hilfe und Orientierung bei der Wahl des Theaterbesuchs anbieten.

2021 findet der IKARUS pandemiebedingte als eine Sonderveranstaltung statt: Mit dem IKARUS 21.0 findet am 12. November 2021 eine Würdigung herausragender Inszenierungen und eines wegweisenden Umgangs mit den pandemischen Gegebenheiten statt.

Veranstaltet von JugendKulturService gGmbH Berlin

http://jugendkulturservice.de

Die Ikarus-Spielzeit findet jährlich im Herbst von Oktober bis November statt, die nächste Ausgabe pandemiebedingt als Sonderveranstaltung am 12. November 2021.

Purple

Tanz für junges Publikum
Iron Skulls Co. "Sinestesia", Foto: David Brock

Neben einem professionellen Bühnenprogramm mit zahlreichen Tanzvorstellungen bietet das internationale Tanzfestival für junges Publikum auch ein umfassendes Rahmenprogramm. In Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Künstler*innen finden Werkeinführungen, Gesprächsformate und kostenlose Workshops für Schüler*innen unterschiedlichen Alters und für Lehrer*innen statt.

Das Festival will Kinder und Jugendliche neugierig machen und für den Tanz  begeistern. Dafür stellt es ein lustvolles und dynamisches Programm mit verschiedenen ästhetischen Ansätzen und inhaltlichen Fragestellungen aus der internationalen, zeitgenössischen Tanzszene zusammen.

Das Festival will nicht nur die Sehgewohnheiten von Kindern und Jugendlichen schärfen, sondern auch zum Mitmachen, Mitfühlen und zum Weiterdenken animieren. Es richtet sich an Kinder und Jugendliche ab 6 Jahre, sowie an alle Interessierten. Die meisten Tanzvorstellungen finden vormittags statt, um den
Klassen den Besuch im Rahmen des Schulunterrichts zu ermöglichen.

Der Hauptstandort des Festivals sind die Uferstudios in Berlin-Wedding. Das Festival kooperiert mit TanzZeit e.V. im Podewil (Berlin-Mitte) und Theater Strahl.HalleOstkreuz (Berlin-Lichtenberg), wo jeweils weitere Tanzproduktionen aus Berlin präsentiert werden.

Veranstaltet von C. Erek & I. Zysk GbR

purple-tanzfestival.de

Purple - internationales Tanzfestival für junges Publikum findet jedes Jahr im Januar statt, die nächste Ausgabe in der zweiten Märzhälfte 2021.

Tanz im August

Tanz
Fotos: Dajana Lothert

Tanz im August ist Berlins internationales Festival für zeitgenössischen Tanz. Jedes Jahr lädt das von HAU Hebbel am Ufer präsentierte Festival in vier Wochen das Publikum ein, die gesamte Bandbreite des Tanzes zu erleben. An vielen Spielorten in der ganzen Stadt erwartet das Publikum Produktionen internationaler Stars und Newcomer als auch Choreograf*innen der Berliner Szene, darunter zahlreiche Uraufführungen und Deutschlandpremieren. Neben den Vorstellungen eröffnet Tanz im August in vielen begleitenden Publikumsformaten den Besucher*innen neue, ungewohnte Zugänge zum Programm.

Veranstaltet von HAU Hebbel am Ufer

tanzimaugust.de

Tanz im August findet jährlich im August statt, die nächste Ausgabe wird noch angekündigt.

Theater der Dinge

Zeitgenössisches Figuren-/ Objekttheater
Théâtre sans Toit "Cubix", Foto: Jean Yves Lacôte

Das internationale Festival »THEATER DER DINGE« zählt zu den wichtigsten deutschen Festivals des zeitgenössischen Figuren- und Objekttheaters. Das Festival reflektiert jeweils mit verschiedenen inhaltlichen Schwerpunktsetzungen aktuelle Trends und Tendenzen des Genres, lotet dabei Grenzbereiche aus und setzt auf das Experiment an den Schnittmengen zu den Schwesterkünsten. Eingeladen werden Inszenierungen, Installationen und Ausstellungen, die sich durch eine einzigartige künstlerische Sprache, eigenwillige ästhetische Qualität und inhaltliche Dringlichkeit auszeichnen.


Veranstaltet von Schaubude Berlin

www.schaubude.berlin

Theater der Dinge findet jährlich im Oktober/November statt, die nächste Ausgabe wird noch angekündigt.